Workflows are an optional feature available to Pro and Enterprise edition Sedna customers. Workflows let users with administrator access automate actions on messages in shared or Solo inboxes, such as applying category or job tags and archiving messages. Workflows can run on both inbound (received) and outbound (sent) messages.
Enabling Workflows
Users with administrator privileges must first contact their Customer Success Manager to request that Workflows be enabled for their organisation.
Finding a Workflow
- Click the Workflows icon in the Sidebar to open the list of workflows
- To narrow the list, use the Team filter at the top to show only workflows that apply to a specific team
- To find a workflow by name, use the search bar (see Finding Workflows in Stream: Search and Team Filter)
Creating a Workflow
With Workflows enabled:
- Click the Workflows icon in the Sidebar
- With no existing workflow selected, click “Create a workflow”
- Enter a name for the workflow. (Optional) Describe the workflow
- From the “Applies To” dropdown, select the Shared or Solo inboxes this workflow will be applied to
- Select whether the workflow applies to Outbound messages as well
- Create the rules, called “conditions”, that Sedna will use to decide whether to apply the workflow’s actions to a message
- Select whether the condition is based on the Body, From, or Subject fields of a message
- Select whether the condition must contain or equal the content
- Enter the content that satisfies the condition
- To add more conditions to this rule, click “+ Add Condition”
- To remove a condition, click the Trashcan icon to the right of the condition
- Conditions are “And” separated by default. To “Or” separate a condition, add it under the “+ OR” heading
- To add more “Or” conditions, click the “+ OR” button
-
Under the “Do This” field, choose one or more actions from the dropdown:
- Add Category Tags to Message
- Add Job Tags to Message
- Archive Message: choose Archive for team or Archive for all. You’ll only see the archive options your permissions allow.
You can combine actions, for example, tag a message and archive it. To add another action, open the dropdown again.
- For tag actions, enter the existing tag to be applied in the “Add tag…” field when all conditions are met
- Click Save
Editing a Workflow
- Click the Workflows icon in the Sidebar
- Select a workflow from the list of existing workflows to open it
- Click Edit to reopen the workflow creator
- When you have finished editing the workflow, click Save
Deleting a Workflow
- Click the Workflows icon in the Sidebar
- Select a workflow from the list of existing workflows to open it
- Click Delete
- In the confirmation window, select Delete to delete the workflow
Important Information
- All text matching in workflow conditions is case-insensitive. For example, a rule looking for “INVOICE” will also match “invoice” or “Invoice”.
- The archive options in a workflow reflect the permissions of the person creating or editing it.
- Archived messages aren’t deleted. They’re removed from the inbox view but can still be found using search. For more on how archiving works, see Archive For Default Team.
Comments
0 comments
Article is closed for comments.