Archive for Default Team allows users to archive a message for themselves and anyone who shares their Default Team. It is important to note that this will not archive the message for users who do not share the user's Default Team. However, any user who shares the archiving user's Default Team will have the message archived in all of their teams. You can Archive For Default Team by either selecting the Archive for Default Team button as seen below, or by pressing Shift + E on your keyboard.
To perform this action, users must be in their Inbox or My Work filter on the left of their SEDNA window.
When hovering over the Archive for Team button with your mouse, an icon will appear displaying the Default Team that the archive action will be executed for.
A confirmation will pop-up to ensure you would like to proceed with this action. To by-pass the confirmation on your device, check 'Do not ask me again'. This will save the setting for this device only.
Note: if the browser's cache is cleared after previously hitting 'Do not ask me again', the setting will revert and this pop-up will come up again.
When you choose a Message to Archive for Default Team, it will archive the Message for all members of your Default Team in all of their teams. The user that archives the Message will be highlighted in the Activity Tab of the message.
Archive For Default Team's Impact on Other Teams
If a message that is shared with multiple teams is archived, the message will still appear for those who are not members of the same Default Team as the user performing the action.
Example: a message is visible to the London Team and Vancouver Team. A user who's Default Team is London performs the Archive For Default Team function on the message. This message is no longer visible to users who share London as their Default Team. The message is still visible to the users with Vancouver as their Default Team.
The chart below highlights the behaviour of the Archive For Default Team function across users and teams:
You can find the archived Message in your Archive filter and your All filter, just like any other archived Message. You can also unarchive the message for yourself just like any other archived message.
Unarchiving Archived for Default Team Messages
A user can unarchive a message for themselves, and this will not influence what team the message can be seen by, nor will it unarchive the message for anyone else. There are two ways that archived messages can be unarchived.
Option 1: Add a Comment
The first way is to tag a person and comment on the message. SEDNA automatically unarchives a message when a comment is added to a message. This is due to the new content for the users to read.
- Go to Archive
- Find the message
- Tag the person who needs to action the message
- Comment on the message
Note: this setting may not be enabled for all teams. If you wish to check the settings for your team, please contact email@example.com.
Option 2: Unarchive
From the Archive filter, a user can batch unarchive any messages from this view.
- Go to the Archive filter
- Click Batch Select
- Shift+Select the messages
- Choose Unarchive
Note: There are multiple other ways to unarchive messages, the above steps and gif are only examples of simple ways.